Gaga

The woman could eat a chihuahua tomorrow and I wouldn’t be surprised.  I love her weirdness and total disregard for normalcy in her diva-life.  For someone who’s 24 (and younger than I am!) you have to give her credit for toeing the line between genders, between insanity and brilliance, and respecting her pop culture/music forebears while creating an image that is totally her own.

More power to you girl.  That’s what I think every time I see a woman walking down the street in a crazy outfit, strutting her stuff and looking good.  Nice.

What is it about aggressive female sexuality that is so fascinating?  Ever since seeing Sigourney Weaver kick alien butt with a flame-thrower in Aliens, I knew that’s what I wanted my superhero self to be.  We all have that little fantasy alter ego, like Batman, vampires, James Bond, GI Joe and all other pop culture tropes that persist through the decades.   The personas are so over the top that they become more like empty vessels for our own identities, a pre-made suit to try on once in a while, even if it’s just in our heads.

Michelle Pfeiffer as Catwoman

Sigourney “Get away from her, you bitch!” Weaver.

Asian girls can do it too.  And by “it” I mean kill their boyfriends and get it on with each other. K-pop girl group gone bad: Brown Eyed Girls in “Abracadabra”

Leave a Reply

